State of the Yankees: Volume 4

Howdy Sportsfans of the greater New England area!!!

Today, I write with great vigor & pride as my legendary New York Yankees have captured their fortieth (count’em, 40!!!) AL pennant. Lovely as it is, the big prize still remains four victories from our usual Yankee death-grip on the hardware.

This series against the Phillies is already shaping up to be one of the most hard fought World Series of recent memory. I have a dark feeling that this series is going deep and probably will be decided by a 7th game. I don’t know if my heart can take it, but I rest assured knowing this is worst possible post-season scenario for Mets fans, and hopefully nearly as depressing for you Red Legged douches!!! (I don’t mean that, but I must take the opportunity to gloat. May it be another 86 years before you get a whiff of that crisp October air.)

Phillies & Yankees definitely match up well together, but hopefully the X factor remains the Yankee constant of my entire adult life: #42.

I don’t believe in god, but if I did – Mariano would only be second to Weird Al in the pantheon of my worshippables. He recorded six outs last night and closed the door on the upstart never-say-die Angels. (Btw, thanks for those heinous errors and base-running snafus. Definitely helped our cause).

Mariano: May your robotic arm, and divine cut-fastball see our pinstripes, once again,  to the promise land.

2 Responses to State of the Yankees: Volume 4

  1. Why Did I go to Law School? says:

    I am without a doubt in the same camp as Mets fans and there is nothing that could make me enjoy this World Series. As much as I hate the yankees I have to give Rivera credit because, like you said, he is the constant that has helped them win in this modern era.

    Fuck baseball we’ve moved on to basketball and college hockey…go BU!

  2. matthewfuntime says:

    college hockey, fantastic. you have at it!

Leave a Reply

